or mismanagement depending on which of the story’s participants you are speaking of…

So, I was keeping my cool (mostly) about the lack of significant progress on the housekeeping front by telling myself that watching my daughter write and act in a play and making errands take longer by not only inviting little ones to come but also allowing them to drive the cart and generally seeing and enjoying the kids instead of pushing us all through the day to get things done was worth it

AND BESIDES (this is the important joy-killing part, thus the big, bold letters),

I’d have after they were in bed to play ‘catch up’.

Then Sonata wasn’t in bed on time

and STILL wasn’t asleep when I went in to lay Asa down.

Any other kid combo of two at a time would probably work, but not these two.

My husband quickly ascertained that I was blowing this schedule hiccup all out of proportion, and I mean this kind

“THE EARTH WILL FALL OFF ITS AXIS AND GET SUCKED INTO THE NEAREST BLACK HOLE IF I DON’T GET TO FOLD LAUNDRY WHEN I PLANNED TO!!”

of ‘out of proportion’

Then he calmly stated in an inquiring tone “If I sit in there with them, will that solve the problem?” and proceeded to sit with them for the 10 whole minutes it took before they were both out so I could get down to the much delayed business.

My hero!

No, not for sitting with the kids for 10 minutes

…though being great at little things is often the best mark of heroes, isn’t it?…

but for realizing that my sanity was in peril over foolish things and biting his tongue long enough for me to realize I was being an idiot … all by myself.

And now the infant is nearly asleep (right on schedule!) and it’s time to finish dishes and study a bit more for Sunday School and a few other things I kept sliding back on my mental to do list as things like “Play with the baby” and “Help Sonata color” and “Help the boys figure out how to get past this whatever things in Zelda” crowded in.

Uh-oh… infant quit looking drowsy and started grinning and cooing at me instead!!!  This means another 15 minutes of infant centered time before she’s out!  Is Earth still firmly on its axis?!?!

Oh good.

Whew!

