This story had an unusual take on some issues regarding the supernatural. We have angels of various ranks and their children, dark angels and their agendas, harps that heal the ill, the traditional ‘ordinary girl’ emerging as the heroine and the roguish guy on the wrong side coming over to the right side for the sake of that girl,{What can I say. Favorite themes can be reused indefinitely if done well in a fresh tale.} and many characters who have been well thought out, carefully inserted who provide some great depth to the story.

There were several parts that drove a good point or moral home but in a way that didn’t devolve into the ‘preachy’ type monologues or asides that too many novels resort to in order to be ‘Christian’. If I want preaching, I read a non-fiction book (and, yes, I do that too). Stories should show me a moral and not outright teach it in a long-winded way. Breath of Angel was careful to avoid that. A few sentences from a friend here, a quick quip there, were enough to drive the author’s points home without messing the rhythm of the story.

All in all, though with my first read through I found myself annoyed that certain portions of the book ejected me from my totally involved state of reading this fresh take on good themes into a ‘…’ or ‘wait, what?’ state of out-of-book thought, I wouldn’t have noticed if I hadn’t been absorbed in the first place. And then, of course, I ended the book highly interested in reading the sequel, Eye of Sword, to continue the path the author started me on here.

If you like science fiction or new takes on myth/legend based stories, give it a try.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <[…]> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

