I have always wanted to, yet never found a history text that put the facts into a cohesive and interesting whole, uniting every strand into a single cord, allowing those facts to be purposeful and memorable. 

Now I have.  Not that this is a textbook, understand.  Instead Bennet puts his knowledge of history in a linear, story form, expertly weaving together the lineage of the presidency, the important issues that arose during each term and the changes in mentality or information that directly affected the presidency and political or national frames of mind.    

As one example Bennet explained how the unfortunate murder of Daniel Pearl played a rather large role in allowing our military to move on a second target following the war in Afghanistan despite how relatively unpopular that idea was in the days prior.  This is a connection that I, sadly, would never have made on my own, yet one that seems so obvious now. And those types of connections, those are the links that infuse what could be told as plain dry facts with a life of their own and make them a memorable, instructive story.

A Century Turns brought together the strands of history and made them accessible to me, someone with possibly a sub-average understanding of the political realm. 

{And aren’t those of you who know how wordy I am glad that booksneeze wants my reviews to not exceed 200 words?  Perhaps a future blog entry… =)  }

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

