"Give Me Jesus" is one goodnight song that my older two children no longer like.

I started singing it this evening only to have my oldest child interrupt and ask for a different song.  I didn’t ask why, but I think it has something to do with his sister’s alarmed question the last time I sang this song.

After the very first verse "In the morning when I rise, Give me Jesus." Lithany stopped me during the chorus and with very wide eyes asked,

"Did we lose Him?" in response to my very confused face, "Did we lose Jesus?" 

I suppose it is a little confusing to a preschool mind to request something that you already have. 

Explanations followed, but it apparently still alarms them.  When you think about it, it can’t be very restful to fall asleep to a song that seems to imply that Jesus is lost.

Bummer, dude.  It’s one of the best lullabies. 

