Psalm 22

O my God, I cry by day, but You do not answer; and by night, but I have no rest. 
YET YOU ARE HOLY, O You who are enthroned upon the praises of Israel. 
In You our fathers trusted; They trusted and you delivered them. 
To You they cried out and were delivered; In You they trusted and were not disappointed.

Psalm 34

I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth. 
My soul will make its boast in the Lord; the humble will hear it and rejoice. 
O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together.
I sought the Lord, and He answered me, and delivered me from all my fears….
Taste and see that the Lord is good; How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!…
The righteous cry and the Lord hears and delivers them out of their troubles.
The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

Joshua 24 loosely paraphrased:

Joshua gathers the people together to hear what the Lord says,

“So a long time ago, your ancestors were across the river worshiping other gods and I brought Abraham across the river to be my worshiper, and multiplied his descendants, Gave him Isaac, gave Isaac Esau and Jacob.  Jacob and his folk headed down to Egypt and I rescued them after performing many wonders.  When they ran up against trouble, I rescued them in memorable ways.  You met much opposition on coming to where I commanded you, and I protected you through it all.  I caused Balaam to bless you.  I gave you cities you didn’t build and fields you didn’t plant.  Now fear me, worship me.  Serve me in truth and put away all other gods.”

Joshua says, “If you do not wish to serve Him, pick another god, but as for my household, we will serve Him.”

The people yell “Of course we will serve God, He’s done so much for us!!”

Joshua says, “You can’t.  It’s impossible.  He’s holy and jealous.  He will not forgive your transgressions or your sins.  If you forsake Him and serve foreign gods then He will turn and do you harm and consume you even after He has done good to you.”

the people insist: WE WILL SERVE THE LORD.

Joshua set up a monument to stand as a reminder of their covenant. 

Israel served the Lord all during Joshua’s days. 

Happy ending to a great story. 

The next book is Judges.

A mere generation after His people swear allegiance we have falling away.  Even those of us who serve God are in danger of trading Him for other gods.  Even those of us who have seen His greatest miracles can falter. 

Lord, grant me Psalm 144 {oh, and that other Psalm that I can’t find about telling Your works to our children.}
“Let our sons in their youth be as grown-up plants
and our daughters as corner pillars fashioned as for a palace.” 

Grant me also that they continue in that path. 
Let them pray these Psalms for my children and grandchildren. 
Lord, keep my family line in Your family line.

If nothing else, this recent tragedy has renewed my desire to train up my children in the ways of the Lord.

Blessed be the name of the Lord.

